La Lettre 2

For dears,

As a reactionary gesture and to console myself that I have actually done something on my weblog, I change the theme of it.

From a white outlook to a black outlook. From a pseudo Hemingway-theme (someone had said that it was not user-friendly but wasn’t that the whole point of it?) to entice literary wannabes to …I don’t know what I’m using now (you might want to scroll down to the bottom of this page to see).

Which one looks better, dear reader? A poll, a vote, sms in your thoughts. After all, it is rage now isn’t it? Involve the reader in the process to create “ownership.”

Maybe I should have a vote. Really. I’ll involve you in a process that outwardly looks beneficial and entertaining but inwardly, it retards your neurons while gaining me big moolah.

One man, one vote. The culture industry is now democratised!

Three cheers for democracy!

The appearance of a choice is really mollifying, isn’t it. Give an angry man some money and he’ll surely want more. Give him the appearance of choice and he’ll be domesticated for life. No more subsidies. Perhaps Mr. Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono should have done that. Subsidies, fuel or otherwise, are touchy issues. Haven’t we learnt that everybody wants to be somebody? By giving them choice, you empower the person to a certain degree. S/he is now a recognized individual. Rejoice for the TV station now recognises my existence!

So spoilt for choice. I choose what time I want to open my eyes. I choose when I want to have my breakfast, be it 11pm or 3pm. Should I run today or should I take a swim? It is not an easy life being unemployed.

Leave a Reply

